"Witnessing in Service"
Home Testimonials Contact Us
Photo Gallery Dioceses Careers
We Do
To support
our mission

Global Campaign Against Hunger

Read More



Read More


Embu Diocese Development office - Development Office


The Diocese of Embu (DOE) is located in Eastern province, Embu County in Kenya. The DOE lies within latitudes 0 20’ and 0O 50 South of Equator and longitudes 370 16’ and 37056’East of Greenwich Meridian. It covers a total area of 2822 Sq Km with a population of 516,212 as per 2009 Census. The Diocese serves approximately 252,704 Catholic faithful translating to 49% of the total population in the area.

The Diocese of Embu was created in 1986. It was curved from the larger Diocese of Meru following the Embu region’s growth in faith, resources and vocations, thus the need to address it in a more specialized and focused way.

Since inception, the Diocese has been served by three Bishops: John Cardinal Njue, the Archbishop of Nairobi, who was the first bishop of Embu, Rt. Rev. Anthony Muheria who is the current Bishop of Kitui and Rt. Rev. Paul Kariuki Njiru who is the shepherd of the Diocese.

The Diocese is structured into four deaneries comprising of 18 parishes namely: Kairuri, Kianjokoma, Embu, Nguviu, Cathedral, Kyeni, Kevote, Nthagaiya, Mbiruri, Kithimu, Kirie, Ishiara, Gwakaithi, Siakago, Munyori, Iriamurai, Karaba Wango and  Makima.



Caritas Embu witnesses to the suffering poor section of the community through Coordinating Social and Economic related interventions in the entire Diocese of Embu. It is committed towards empowering the poor, under-privileged, the vulnerable and the entire community to have a voice in the use of resources, access and the way the resources are governed.



A society where people work for their sustained development in dignity witnessing God’s love



To facilitate the enhancement of human dignity through sustainable and holistic transformation in accordance with the Gospel values and teachings of the church




Quick Links

Other Dioceses

Bungoma Diocese Development office
Caritas Eldoret
Caritas Homabay Development office
Caritas Kisumu Development office
Caritas Maralal
Caritas Meru
Caritas Mombasa
Caritas Muranga
Caritas Nairobi
Caritas Nyeri
Garissa Diocese Development office
Isiolo Diocese Development office
Kakamega Diocese Development office
Kericho Diocese Development office
Kisii Diocese Development office
Kitale Diocese Development office
Kitui Diocese Development office
Lodwar Diocese Development office
Machakos Diocese Development office
Malindi Diocese Development office
Marsabit Diocese Development office
Nakuru Diocese Development office
Ngong Diocese Development office
Nyahururu Diocese Development office
About Caritas Kenya  |  Programs  |  Resource Center  |  Photo Gallery  |  Dioceses  |  FAQs  |  Partners  |  Careers  |  Contact Us  |  Staff Email

© Copyright 2013. Caritas Kenya. All Rights Reserved.